Sunday, November 20, 2016

MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line starts on December 16

MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line (SBK) will tentatively begin operation on December 16 for section between   SBK1  Sungai Buloh station and   SBK14  Semantan station.

The operator of the first MRT Line in Malaysia, Rapid Rail Sdn Bhd has announced the fare structure.

Rolling stock of MRT SBK Line

Concourse level of Taman Tun Dr Ismail station

Train approaching the platform  

Glossy tiles with escalators and stairs to platform level

Key highlights
Phase 1 of MRT SBK is expected to be operational from 16 December 2016; covering 12 stations between Sungai Buloh and Semantan.

Phase 2 of MRT SBK, covering the remaining 19 stations between Semantan and Kajang, is scheduled for operations next July.

The fare structure has been approved by the Government and is based on the nominal flag fall and cascading rates for every four to five kilometres travelled – similar with the fare structure of the LRT and monorail services operated by Rapid Rail, a subsidiary of Prasarana Malaysia Berhad.