Thursday, November 27, 2014

Station name for Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line (SBK)

Mass Rapid Transit Corporation Sdn Bhd has finalised names for the 31 MRT stations located on the Sungai Buloh – Kajang line, also known as Line 1.

Code          Final Name                        Working Name                                Interchange
Stage 1 Operating Dec-2016
 SBK01 Sungai BulohSungai Buloh
 SBK02 Kampung SelamatKampung Baru Sungai Buloh
 SBK04 Kwasa DamansaraKota Damansara
 SBK05 Kwasa SentralTaman Industri Sungai Buloh
 SBK06 Teknologi*
 SBK07 Kota DamansaraPJU5
 SBK08 SurianDataran Sunway
 SBK09 Mutiara DamansaraThe Curve
 SBK10Bandar Utama1 Utama BK1 
 SBK11 Taman Tun Dr IsmailTTDI
 SBK12 Phileo DamansaraSeksyen 16
 SBK13 Pusat Bandar DamansaraPusat Bandar Damansara
 SBK14 SemantanSemantan
Stage 2 Opening Jul-2017
 SBK15 Muzium NegaraKL Sentral
 SBK16Pasar SeniPasar Seni KJ14 
 SBK17 MerdekaMerdeka
 SBK18Bukit BintangBukit Bintang Central MR6 
 SBK19 Tun Razak ExchangePasar Rakyat SSP23 
 SBK20 CochraneCochrane
 SBK21 MaluriMaluri AG3 
 SBK22 Taman PertamaTaman Bukit Ria
 SBK23 Taman MidahTaman Bukit Mewah
 SBK24 Taman MutiaraLeisure Mall
 SBK25 Taman ConnaughtPlaza Phoenix
 SBK26 Taman SuntexTaman Suntex
 SBK27 Sri RayaTaman Cuepacs
 SBK28 Bandar Tun Hussein OnnBandar Tun Hussein Onn
 SBK29 Batu 11 Cheras1. Balakong
2. Bukit Dukung
 SBK30 Bukit Dukung1. Taman Koperasi
2. Taman Koperasi Cuepacs
 SBK31 Sungai Jernih1. Saujana Impian
2. Sungai Kantan
 SBK32 Stadium KajangBandar Kajang
 SBK33 KajangKajang
 BK1 LRT Bandar Utama – Klang
 KJ14 LRT Kelana Jaya Line
 MR6 Monorail Line
 SSP23 MRT Sungai Buloh – Serdang – Putrajaya Line
 AG3 LRT Sri Petaling Line
*Provisional station

“The name changes are to better reflect the locality of the station,” MRT Corp CEO Datuk Wira Azhar Abdul Hamid said in a press briefing here yesterday.

Citing the Titiwangsa monorail station built more than a decade ago as an example, Azhar said it was actually in the vicinity of the Pekeliling flats and bus stand, rather than Titiwangsa per se.

“We want to avoid this situation from recurring. A commuter should know where he is when he arrives at any MRT station, and this is why we have tweaked the provisional station names,” Azhar said, adding that the Prime Minister had personally approved the final list.

“He made one or two changes after we presented our proposal to him,” said Azhar, who was probably holding his final press conference as MRT Corp CEO as he will be stepping down on Dec 21.

A MRT Corp official confirmed the new CEO would be announced by early next January.

Azhar also defended MRT Corp’s decision not to hold a public contest to name the stations, saying that all would like to see their own choices picked, making a satisfactory conclusion impossible.

Major changes include naming the Kampung Baru Sungai Buloh station (next to the Sungai Buloh station) as Kampung Selamat. Kwasa Land, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Employees Provident Fund, is set to gain further prominence as the Kota Damansara and Taman Industri Sungai Buloh stations will be named Kwasa Damansara and Kwasa Sentral respectively.

The KL Sentral station will be named Muzium Negara, as the footprint of the station is actually at the door of the National Museum, while the Tun Razak Exchange will be the final name for the interchange station formerly known as Pasar Rakyat.

Plaza Phoenix will be called Taman Connaught, which was also announced as a future interchange station between Line 1 and the proposed Line 2 (SSP). The reason of the change is due to no guarantee that the building would not be sold and renamed by the new owner.