Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Seremban-Port Dickson highway go fully electronic

Toll concessionaire PLUS will be introducing toll free highway system for all earliest by 2018.

Only TnG and SmartTAG to be accepted at all toll plazas.

This coming June 1, all toll transactions at both toll plazas on the Seremban-Port Dickson Highway (SPDH) will be conducted electronically via PLUSMiles cards, Touch ‘n Go cards or SmartTAGs.

Frequent users are advised to purchase preloaded RM5 PLUSMiles Touch ‘n Go cards at a promotional rate of RM5 (card is free) at both toll plazas beginning 1 May until 31 August 2015

In addition, the public can also purchase SmartTAGs at a promotional rate of RM104.95 (inclusive of 6% GST) at Mambau and Lukut Toll Plazas beginning 1 May until 30 June 2015 (while stock lasts).

Example of savings by using PlusMiles card.

Other toll plazas that are fully electronic:

  1. Perling Toll Plaza on the Linkedua Highway
  2. Kempas Toll Plaza on the North-South Expressway in Johor in January 2014
  3. Batu Tiga and Sungai Rasau Toll Plazas on the Federal Highway Route 2 (FHR2) in November 2014.

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Station name for Sg Buloh - Kajang Line

Mass Rapid Transit Corporation Sdn Bhd has finalised names for the 31 MRT stations located on the Sungai Buloh-Kajang line, also known as Line 1.

“The name changes are to better reflect the locality of the station,” MRT Corp CEO Datuk Wira Azhar Abdul Hamid said in a press briefing here yesterday.

Citing the Titiwangsa monorail station built more than a decade ago as an example, Azhar said it was actually in the vicinity of the Pekeliling flats and bus stand, rather than Titiwangsa per se.

“We want to avoid this situation from recurring. A commuter should know where he is when he arrives at any MRT station, and this is why we have tweaked the provisional station names,” Azhar said, adding that the Prime Minister had personally approved the final list.

“He made one or two changes after we presented our proposal to him,” said Azhar, who was probably holding his final press conference as MRT Corp CEO as he will be stepping down on Dec 21.

A MRT Corp official confirmed the new CEO would be announced by early next January.

Azhar also defended MRT Corp’s decision not to hold a public contest to name the stations, saying that all would like to see their own choices picked, making a satisfactory conclusion impossible.

Major changes include naming the Kampung Baru Sungai Buloh station (next to the Sungai Buloh station) as Kampung Selamat. Kwasa Land, a wholly owned subsidiary of the Employees Provident Fund, is set to gain further prominence as the Kota Damansara and Taman Industri Sungai Buloh stations will be named Kwasa Damansara and Kwasa Sentral respectively.

The KL Sentral station will be named Muzium Negara, as the footprint of the station is actually at the door of the National Museum, while the Tun Razak Exchange will be the final name for the interchange station formerly known as Pasar Rakyat.

Plaza Phoenix will be called Taman Connaught, which was also announced as a future interchange station between Line 1 and the proposed Line 2.

“We decided to drop the name Plaza Phoenix as there is no guarantee that the building would not be sold and renamed by the new owner.

“We took all these factors into consideration in coming up with this final list,” said Azhar.

Saturday, October 11, 2014

LRT Line 3 Bandar Utama to Shah Alam

LRT 3 Alignment Map

The Budget 2015 has renewed spark in giving out expensive and redundant light rail and MRT projects with hope to increase public transport modal share.

Among them are 56km Second MRT Line from Selayang to Putrajaya (estimated RM23bil) and LRT 3 Project linking Bandar Utama to Shah Alam and Klang (about RM9bil)

This raise the crucial integration point between Bandar Utama MRT station and LRT Line 3. As previously mentioned in article with MRT Corp CEO, it must be sorted out during designing stage with passengers comfort and costs in mind.

Saturday, June 7, 2014

AirAsia's operation at klia2

This Monday, 9th June marks one month anniversary for AirAsia's family move to klia2 after more than nine years operation at LCCT.

An AirAsia A320 taxis past KLIA2’s unique skybridge, first in Asia. Credit to Bangkok Post.

Among the biggest shock from AirAsia is the klia2 fees MYR3 charged on behalf of Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd (MAHB). The actual cost of using the jet bridge is only 25 cents per passenger as per MAHB and AirAsia does not absorb these charges, but instead passes them on to passengers in air ticket since May 9. KVMRT: As far as concerned, the blame is on both sides at the expense of travelers.

Delays in baggage handling, parking bays changes and breakdown of self check kiosk are major hatchback faced by all airlines operating from/to klia2.

Gate allocation system, which was new to AirAsia and its unfamiliarity with the system had caused close to 200 gate changes on its first day of operations at klia2, resulting in great inconvenience to passengers. They managed to reduce the gate changes to less than 10 daily after working together with airport operator.

Slow baggage transfer from planes' cargo to the baggage claiming carousel triggered airport to deploy their own manpower to assist airlines with many aspects of operations.

KVMRT: Fair point should be given to AirAsia who is under constant attack from MAHB regarding earlier cost overrun and delay in completion for klia2. Aireen Omar, CEO of AirAsia Malaysia has taken extra ground work to ensure the operation is smooth and seamless travelling experience to passengers.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

KLIA2 soft opening

Drive along KLIA Extension Highway, we shall noticed the new airport for our country, KLIA2 aka new LCCT.

The klia2 will welcomed its first landing flight from Cebu Air at 12.30 am, May 2.

Airlines operating in klia2 include: Malindo Air, Cebu Airlines, Tiger Airways and Mandala Airlines. (unconfirmed: AirAsia and AirAsia X)

Exterior view of klia2

Overview of check in counters of klia2.

International Departures entrance

The walking corridor of KLIA2

Signboard to Departures Gate and Sama Sama Express klia2 Hotel.

Services provided at klia2: Internet and Smoking Lounge

All the pictures above does not belong to My Rapid Transit. Credit to @AKaprawi